goofy bourgeois

Someone typed that on Google and it- curiously- led to our blog.  I’m serious. (And now that I’ve used it as a title, we are actively crawling up that particular search string.)

Too tired from looking at art and posters and making posters for Dave’s show and planning shows and exhibitions and booths and stamping books and packing art and shipping said art and eating leafy greens to do anything productive…

I thought about the interviews where they make an artist put their iTunes on random and make them share the playlist, no matter how embarrassing.  I won’t share the fact that I’m listening to Earth, Wind, and Fire relentlessly as I work on the Kinogeists book, or that my shuffle is now playing Rick Springfield, for fear of losing my massive artistic credibility.  What I will do is this:

Thirteen images, universally lucky number and Baker’s dozen, pulled from my iPhone by their anonymous file code, and presented here unedited and unphotoshopped.  (Let’s hope there’s no incriminating shots of Jack supergluing shut the new and highly controversial Chicago parking meters.)

I can’t wait for the Nitrate and Kinogeists show here in Chicago, I think that we may have a really fantastic new artist to announce before San Diego, and it is impossible to be as Zen-master calm as Allen Spiegel, but we mere mortals can keep trying.  In the meantime, enjoy thirteen magical seconds of my life:

Lovelovelove,

Tom

This one

Oh, this is a good one. Our archivist couldn't find a tube that was long enough to hold the Opium poster, so he wrote warnings on the side for the Merchandise Mart's not-always-so-careful Union handlers. The other sides said "Pushing Down=Murder" and "Push Down, Kiss Your Life Good Bye".

Jeremy Bastian loves Industrial music, and Mexican Food at 4 a.m.

Jeremy Bastian loves Industrial music, and Mexican Food at 4 a.m.

After the midnight show of The Dark Crystal at the Music Box; thankfully we only found one of these tossed aside.

After the midnight show of The Dark Crystal at the Music Box; thankfully we only found one of these tossed aside.

I didn't buy the chair.  But I should have.

Fairies and ghosts love old leather.

Gail Potocki is happy about twice a year.  This was one of those nights.

Gail Potocki is blissfully happy about twice a year. This was one of those nights.

Stuart was so funny this show, I wish we had a video camera.  I'm not kidding.

Stuart was so funny this show, I wish we had a video camera. I'm not kidding.

Every night is Halloween around here.  I love it.

Every night is Halloween around here, and I love it.

I pulled up to a stop sign around 1 a.m. just as this woman stumbled past in her bathrobe.  Not kidding.

I pulled up to a stop sign around 1 a.m. just as this woman stumbled past in her bathrobe. Not kidding once again.

The Reverend Hudson.  Jack touched Hugh Jackman's butt mere moments after this was taken.

The Reverend Hudson. Jack touched Hugh Jackman's butt mere moments after this was taken.

I have no idea.  I think for the wall texture.

I have no idea. I think for the wall texture. (It was very "European Gulag".)

Our Artropolis booth.  You can see the unbelievably sexy original Walter Schnackenberg painting pretty well here.

Our Artropolis booth. You can see the unbelievably sexy original Walter Schnackenberg painting moderately well here on the front column. People's reactions were VERY varied, and VERY entertaining when they rounded the corner and saw "Opium" "Hunger" "Syphilis" and "Cocaine".

This the second day in 2009 when Gail Potocki was wildly happy from playing in the garden.  That's her quota.

This the second day in 2009 when Gail Potocki was wildly happy from playing in the garden. (That's her quota.) This is an old box spring from a sleeper couch that she converted into a trellis for her Clematis. Lyta is wagging her tail as she gets scratched under the chinny chin chin.

Lyta has a magic snaggletooth that is soooo heavy that she just has to rest it sometimes.

Lyta has a magic snaggletooth that is soooo heavy that she just has to rest it sometimes. And, yes, she sits there with her legs straddling the arm of the chair like that every single day. When not sleeping on the back of the chair like a cat.

Leave a Reply

