A Day in the Life of Century Guild: Silent Films, Dave McKean, and Gardening.

What we did today:

Jim Kay of Transmission Atelier: “I brought all of my gear- lights, monitors, and computers- into Tom’s bedroom so that I could color correct our edition prints of these Dave McKean paintings for the umpteenth pass.  I barely even noticed all the dirty laundry on the floor.  Barely.”

Jim Kay with multiple color variations of "Mélies (Untitled)" checks them against the monitor.

Jim Kay with multiple color variations of "Méliès (Untitled)" checks them against the monitor.

Jim and I have spent a lot of time together in my bedroom these past weeks.

Jim and I have spent a lot of time together in my bedroom these past weeks. Alone.

Checking the prints against the original Dave McKean painting

Checking the prints against the original Dave McKean painting

Hour four.

Hour four.

What Jim Kay sees (1).

What Jim Kay sees (1).

What Jim Kay sees (2).

What Jim Kay sees (2).

Bob Reveley: “The things we do for Gail Potocki and her garden.”

Upside?  Bob gets to be outside.  Downside?  He is digging a trench.

Upside? Bob gets to be outside. Downside? He is digging a trench.

Lyta and Lucyfur supervise Bob's gravedigging... from the cushy chaise on the back porch.

Lyta and Lucyfur supervise Bob's gravedigging... from the cushy chaise on the back porch.

Meanwhile, down in the cellar… (Jack will kill me if I pretend to be him and type something here.)

Jack hard at work on the posters for the Nitrate and Kinogeists weekend.

Jack hard at work on the posters for the Nitrate and Kinogeists weekend.

Thomas Negovan: “While Jack rots in the cellar and Bob wallows in the dirt, I ascend the staircase to the tower where the library resides.  In the recording studio, we are transported to Berlin in 1923; I use the wall space in here to hang silent film posters as I work on the Kinogeists book. Giant originals, and for sake of space, small prints that Jim from Transmission Atelier custom produces for my endeavor.”

Ok, I wouldn’t really use the word “endeavor” in a sentence, but it reads well.  The last photo shows not only my desk, but how much more sunlight I get than Jack.  I do, however, somehow still match him in pastiness.

Original 1915 poster for Italian silent film Zinga (Gypsy).

Original 1915 poster for Italian silent film Zinga (Gypsy).

Miniature Transmission Atelier prints...

Miniature Transmission Atelier prints...

Command central: the library.

Command central: the library. (I really need a steampunk keyboard.)

Leave a Reply

